Indian Railways Jobs & Recruitment

Indian Railways Jobs & Recruitment:

The Indian Railways have been divided into several zones for the purpose of administration. Zones are divided into Divisions and Divisions to Departments.



Group A: The Group ‘A’ officers are recruited by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). Railway officers of the highest rank belong to Group ‘A’.

Group B: There are no special examinations for the selection of Group B employees. Most of them are directly promoted from Group C.

Group C and Group D: Group C and Group D employees are recruited by the Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs).
Officers of the lowest rank belong to Group D.

Eligibility For Jobs in Railways Job:
According to Groups different Qualification is required which are as follow:

Group A:
Graduation in any stream (for civil service); Degree in Engineering or M.Sc Degree (for engineering service); Degree in medicine- M.B.B.S (for medical service) from any recognised University. Besides Engineering Service Examination, a Special Class Railway Apprenticeship Examination (SCRA) is also held for the selection of mechanical engineers. HSC or equivalent with PCM, is the minimum qualification for SCRA exam.

Group C:

For Non-Technical Popular Categories(NTPC): Matriculation or Equivalent with 50% marks in aggregate. (Not applicable for SC/ST candidates and for the candidates of any category possessing higher qualification).
For Technician Categories: Act Apprenticeship/ ITI. No other qualification including Diploma in Engineering /BE will be accepted as an alternative qualification. Act Apprenticeship/ITI certificate must be approved by SCVT / NCVT. Scouting/Guiding Qualification as mentioned.

Group D:

Passed Class-10th or equivalent. Scouting/Guiding Qualification as mentioned.

Selection Procedure For a Railway Job:
Selection procedure of Indian railways consists of 4 processes which are:

Written Test: Written Test is conducted in the different examination centers.
Medical Exam: Medical Exam or Medical Test.
Personal Interview:
Merit List

Age Limit:
18-45 years (Relaxation for OBC and SC/ST candidate)

Some of the exams are listed below:
RPF Exams
Some other posts comes under the UPSC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *